avs scripting help

Locked
User avatar
FurryCurry
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 8:41 pm
Org Profile

Post by FurryCurry » Sat Feb 22, 2003 7:47 pm

Frosta Rahl wrote:the dvd2avi is the version provided by the AMVapp (downloaded last night) is that the 1.86 version?

this is the text I have typed exactly as it is typed in my avs file

MPEG2Source("C:\My Documents\newfy.d2v") I have been trying to open it in premiere also but I don't have the Virtual dub (Ill look for that right now)
If you are going to work with files in your My Documents folder, you have to specify the full pathname, which is probably something like:

C:\Documents and Settings\[your username]\My Documents

I find it much easier to place my vobs and all of that in a folder at the root level of the HD.

To do that, open My Computer, click you C: drive icon to open it, and make a new folder (keep the name short if you dont like typing, something like, umm, "amv" :lol:

Open up this new folder you made, then move all your vobs, d2v files, avs scripts, etc over to it, then you can make a very short script like:

MPEG2Source("C:\amv\newfy.d2v")

*You may have to remake your d2v file for it to work right.

* make sure when you're saving your .avs script from notepad, you are selecting "all" file types, or it will save your file with a name like "myscript.avs.txt" which will not be recognized by WMP, Premiere, or anything else except as a text file.

User avatar
CHWOODYARD
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: SoCal.
Org Profile

avs scripting help

Post by CHWOODYARD » Sat Feb 22, 2003 8:23 pm

For my problem with the scripting files and everything I downloaded the amvapp and did the d2v project files for all the vobs. Now Premeir says Script error: there is no such funtion named "MPEG2Source"

Thanks for yelling at me for making the avi files when I should have.

I have to say that this board has been very helpful, unlike my friend who made the Bad Habit amv. He keeps pointing me to other places for help.

Frosta Rahl
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2003 8:20 pm
Org Profile

Post by Frosta Rahl » Sat Feb 22, 2003 8:25 pm

Grrrrr! Now Im getting in virtual dub it says failure line 2? I havn't gotten dvd2AVI 1.86 yet, the latest I can find is 1.77 but I am still looking.

I changed my folder and made a new dvd2avi, now my script reads

MPEG2Source("C:\amv\newfy.d2v")

and i get the avisynth open failureAvi file source:couldn't open file (C:\amv\newfy--default.avs, line 2)

I have made sure to save my script file as all files rather than text. thanks. Any ideas what I did wrong now?

User avatar
FurryCurry
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 8:41 pm
Org Profile

Re: avs scripting help

Post by FurryCurry » Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:24 am

CHWOODYARD wrote:For my problem with the scripting files and everything I downloaded the amvapp and did the d2v project files for all the vobs. Now Premeir says Script error: there is no such funtion named "MPEG2Source"
Very odd. Make sure you have all the capitalization correct, and no spaces in the line at all. At this point, I'm not sure exactly what might be wrong, aside from a typo or something. the line I described SHOULD work. Here's an example of it working:

(linked for size)

If you don't mind, how about posting your script here? Just cut, and paste it into you post, maybe put it between code tags like so:

Code: Select all

 [code] 
[/code]

User avatar
FurryCurry
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2002 8:41 pm
Org Profile

Post by FurryCurry » Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:29 am

Frosta Rahl wrote:Grrrrr! Now Im getting in virtual dub it says failure line 2? I havn't gotten dvd2AVI 1.86 yet, the latest I can find is 1.77 but I am still looking.

I changed my folder and made a new dvd2avi, now my script reads

MPEG2Source("C:\amv\newfy.d2v")

and i get the avisynth open failureAvi file source:couldn't open file (C:\amv\newfy--default.avs, line 2)

I have made sure to save my script file as all files rather than text. thanks. Any ideas what I did wrong now?
Look around here for a link to DVD2AVI 1.86.

Like I said above, why not post your script here, it will help folks figure out what's going wrong.

Try 1.86 first, though.

User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by klinky » Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:49 am

if it says it can't find the MPEG2Source function, that means it's not loading MPEG2DEC.

Find MPEG2DEC.DLL or MPEG2DEC3.dll on your hard drive.

Then add

LoadPlugin("Location to mpeg2dec.dll\mpeg2dec.dll")


To your script.


~klinky

User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by klinky » Sun Feb 23, 2003 12:51 am

You need to add that BEFORE MPEG2Source.


~klinky

User avatar
CHWOODYARD
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: SoCal.
Org Profile

avs script help

Post by CHWOODYARD » Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:04 am

This is what I have typed in my first of 3 avs files:

LoadPlugin("D:\Myname\Decomb.DLL")
MPEG2Source("D:\Myname\video_folder\chobits_DVD_1\chobits_DVD_1.d2v")
Telecide()
Decimate(5)
BicubicResize(360,480)

User avatar
klinky
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2001 12:23 am
Location: Cookie College...
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by klinky » Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:11 am

LoadPlugin("D:\myname\mpeg2dec3.dll")
LoadPlugin("D:\Myname\Decomb.DLL")
MPEG2Source("D:\Myname\video_folder\chobits_DVD_1\chobits_DVD_1.d2v")
Telecide()
Decimate(5)
BicubicResize(360,480)

I believe the version that comes with the AMVapp pack is mpeg2dec3.dll. Double check to see what the name of mpeg2dec.dll is in your "myname" folder. If it's even there.

The AMVApp pack, should allow you to select a folder (default="C:\AVSFilters") that allows you to put the filters into that folder and they will be auto-loaded. So there would be no need to use LoadPlugin.

Probably something happened during the installation(you messed up :P) and it didn't work. Anyways, just try the above script first and tell us what happens.


~klinky

User avatar
CHWOODYARD
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2002 3:54 pm
Location: SoCal.
Org Profile

avs scripting help

Post by CHWOODYARD » Sun Feb 23, 2003 1:30 am

VirtualDub1.5.0 says:

Avisynth open failure:
Unrecognized exception!
(D:\Myname\Chobits DVD 1.avs, line 3)

Premier 6.0 says:

Unrecognized exception!
(D:\Myname\Chobits DVD 1.avs, line 3)

Before I tried to load the avs file into both of the programs I installed AVISynth2 again. Just to make sure that I can use avs files.

Locked

Return to “Video & Audio Help”