Vegas 4 split-screen

The old Video Software Help forum, left visible as an archive.
Locked
Dvirus101
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: Somewhere in this crazy, mixed up universe of ours....
Contact:
Org Profile

Vegas 4 split-screen

Post by Dvirus101 » Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:06 pm

I have two clips, the first is essentially AB and the second is essentially CD. How does one go about rendering part of the output as A|D in Vegas 4?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

User avatar
Gemberkoekje
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:42 pm
Org Profile

Post by Gemberkoekje » Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:30 pm

i can do that in Avisynth (free somewhere on this site)

crop B off AB
crop C off CD
layer/overlay (B, C, halfX, 0)

something like that... export it with Virtuadub and put the result into Vegas 4...

Sorry but i dont know vegas 4 so you should wait for someone who does :P
BakaNeko.nl!

User avatar
Gemberkoekje
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:42 pm
Org Profile

Post by Gemberkoekje » Tue Jan 11, 2005 11:59 pm

Use the following code in avisynth:

Code: Select all

#This piece of code is Copyright© Baka Neko Producties.
#
#It may only be used after permission of BNP, as given to Dvirus101
vid1 = directshowsource("C:\video1.avi")
vid2 = directshowsource("C:\video2.avi")
vid2 = Bicubicresize(vid2,640,480) #Might wanna change this to the size of vid1 - if they are not the same
vid1 = crop(vid1, 0, 0, 320, 480)
vid1 = addborders(vid1,0,0,320,0)
vid2 = crop(vid2, 320, 0, 320, 480)
vid1 = ConvertToRGB32(vid1)
vid2 = ConvertToRGB32(vid2)
Overlay(vid1, vid2,x=320,y=0)
Exact working order:

Install Avisynth+Virtuadubmod
create a file anything.avs
change C:\video1 and 2 to the videos you want to use.
Start VirtuaDubMod, choose open video, and choose anything.avs
Now choose File - Save as... - choose a compression under compression and think up a filename
press save
wait
et voila... ready to put into Vegas or whatever you want to use...
BakaNeko.nl!

TaranT
Joined: Wed May 16, 2001 11:20 pm
Org Profile

Re: Vegas 4 split-screen

Post by TaranT » Wed Jan 12, 2005 1:06 am

Dvirus101 wrote:I have two clips, the first is essentially AB and the second is essentially CD. How does one go about rendering part of the output as A|D in Vegas 4?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Place one clip above the other. Right-click the top one and select Event FX. Drag the cookie cutter effect to the window. In the properties select a square shape (rectangle might work for this, too). In the lower left window, drag the blue square directly left. Or use the Center X and Center Y numbers to locate precisely (X=0, y=0.5). You'll see your A|D appear in the preview window.

From there you can add a colored border, feathered if you want it that way.

Change the Method option to swap the two halves.

Animate with keyframes if you want the boundary to move.

User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:47 pm
Status: Quo
Location: New Jersey
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Scintilla » Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:08 am

Gemberkoekje wrote:

Code: Select all

#This piece of code is Copyright© Baka Neko Producties.
#
#It may only be used after permission of BNP, as given to Dvirus101
vid1 = directshowsource("C:\video1.avi")
vid2 = directshowsource("C:\video2.avi")
Why does this code use DirectShowSource() and not <b>AVISource()</b> for loading AVIs? :?
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:

User avatar
bum
17747114553
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2003 9:56 pm
Org Profile

Post by bum » Wed Jan 12, 2005 5:05 am

Their are two problems with the avisynth method. Firstly, vegas doesnt support avisynth. Sony tried to impliment it into vegas5 but thier seemed to be some error they couldnt find a way around. Mabey if people bug them enough on the official forum. However it may be possible to use the wax plug-in and import avs files indirectly through it. Though I havent tried it, mainly because I've never had a use for avisynthin. The second "problem" is, why waste time with all that code when you could just apply a filter :P

User avatar
Kalium
Sir Bugsalot
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, Michigan
Org Profile

Post by Kalium » Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:27 am

Gemberkoekje wrote:Use the following code in avisynth:

Code: Select all

#This piece of code is Copyright© Baka Neko Producties.
#
#It may only be used after permission of BNP, as given to Dvirus101
OK, now that's just bad form.

User avatar
Gemberkoekje
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 11:42 pm
Org Profile

Post by Gemberkoekje » Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:06 am

It's my code :P can do anything i want with it :P

re: vegas doesnt support avisynth.
First export it to avi with VDM

re: why waste time with all that code when you could just apply a filter
I told you i dont know Vegas :P

re: Why does this code use DirectShowSource() and not AVISource() for loading AVIs?
I found DSS to show more kinds of files - so that's why i rather use that.

:P
BakaNeko.nl!

User avatar
Kalium
Sir Bugsalot
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, Michigan
Org Profile

Post by Kalium » Wed Jan 12, 2005 5:30 pm

Gemberkoekje wrote:It's my code :P can do anything i want with it :P
That doesn't make it any less in bad form.

Dvirus101
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2003 1:33 pm
Location: Somewhere in this crazy, mixed up universe of ours....
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Dvirus101 » Wed Jan 12, 2005 6:55 pm

Right before I logged in to see the replies, I figured out how to do it with the Cookie Cutter. Thanks to everybody though!

Locked

Return to “Video Software Help Archive”