Utawarerumono R1 scripts

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling and cleaning up your footage with Avisynth.
Locked
User avatar
Flame-X
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Status: In Silence
Location: Illinois
Contact:
Org Profile

Utawarerumono R1 scripts

Post by Flame-X » Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:46 pm

Anyone got any scripts to share?

I've been experimenting a bunch of filters but I can't get rid of some nasty looking noise and small traces of interlace artifacts.

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Kariudo » Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:58 pm

can you post the script that has been giving you the best results so far?

before/after shots would also be nice
Image
Image

User avatar
Flame-X
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Status: In Silence
Location: Illinois
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Flame-X » Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:34 pm

Sure! Here's my script.

Code: Select all

ConvertToYV12(interlaced=false)
LanczosResize(848,480)
Crop(8,0,-8,-0)
deen("a3d",4,11,10)
FastLineDarken(thinning=0)
SSXSharpen()
Before
Image

After
Image

Before
Image

After
Image

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Kariudo » Fri Mar 21, 2008 9:15 pm

I'm sure my dialup wants to cut itself right about now...but onto the script

second set looks horrible, it might just be one of those frames that occur at scene changes every now and again...assuming you're using dvds and preprocessing I'd try adding cpu=4 or cpu=6 to mpeg2source

Deen is taking care of the noise, but is also destroying a lot of detail in the process. I'd back off on deen and use fluxsmoothST() to get rid of that noise around the lines.

If that doesn't satisfy you, try adding vagueDenoiser() &/or removegrain() (modes 2 and 5 for removegrain are my favorites. I'm using v1.0)

ssxsharpen isn't doing too much, try messing with the settings or using another sharpener like limitedsharpen/limitedsharpenfaster
Image
Image

User avatar
Flame-X
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Status: In Silence
Location: Illinois
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Flame-X » Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:04 am

The "cpu=4 or cpu=6 to mpeg2source" didn't work because I already exported my vid. So here's my new script:

Code: Select all

#ASYNTHER AVISource
AVISource("C:\Documents and Settings\Greg\My Documents\AMV source\UTAWARERUMONO\01.avi")

ConvertToYV12(interlaced=false)
LanczosResize(848,480)
Crop(8,0,-8,-0)
Deblock(quant=25)
fluxsmoothST()
removegrain(5)
Wow... I can barely notice the changes haha.
Image

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Kariudo » Sat Mar 22, 2008 12:28 am

it should be removegrain(mode=5)

I'd still use deen, but with much weaker settings (I usually use a3d,2,4,4)
having a sharpener in there will make some difference too

try this

Code: Select all

converttoyv12(interlaced=false)
LanczosResize(848,480)
crop(8,0,-8,-0)
removegrain(mode=5)
removegrain(mode=5)
fluxsmoothST()
deen("a3d",2,4,4)
fastlinedarken(thinning=0)
ssxsharpen()
but make ssxsharpen a little stronger
Image
Image

User avatar
Kalium
Sir Bugsalot
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2003 11:17 pm
Location: Plymouth, Michigan
Org Profile

Post by Kalium » Sat Mar 22, 2008 2:21 pm

Looking at those, I think some reordering may be called for. The 'after' images look to me like they could use a little sharpening.

User avatar
Flame-X
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 8:10 pm
Status: In Silence
Location: Illinois
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Flame-X » Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:57 pm

Hmmm... Kariudo, all the filters u posted worked except for removegrain (not because it's posted twice haha).
I get an error saying, there is no function named "removegrain".

Anyways, the results look great even without the remove grain filter. So thanks for all the help! =)

User avatar
Kariudo
Twilight prince
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
Location: Los taquitos unidos
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Kariudo » Sun Mar 23, 2008 6:55 pm

yeah, I put the two removegrains in there on purpose (extra denoising, preserves details really well)

what version of removegrain are you using?
if it's not 1.0, you can get it from here

glad it works
Image
Image

Locked

Return to “AviSynth Help”