makeAvis vs VFapi discussion

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by taifunbrowser » Mon Jul 02, 2007 9:26 am

K, I managed to export my amv by the following process:

Click on first frame, and hit right arrow key at .5 second intervals, spanning the entire amv.

Assuming that didn't crash (which it didnt) you'll also get to see your amv in superslowmo and see if there was anything you missed.

After "panning thorugh" the entire amv with my right arrow key button, for somereason I was able to export the whole thing without crash :D

kbrb whacking head with hammer

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

asdf

Post by taifunbrowser » Mon Jul 02, 2007 10:25 am

Verdicts:

avs2avi > makeavis > vfapi (SPEED)

vfapi creates unreliable streams, drops frames ALOT (last amv had to do in pieces not because of crash but because clips wouldnt turn out like you thought they would until you rendered a few times.

Avs2Avi feels reliable, I hadnt had any troubles this project: BUT it filled up my ram.

SetMaxMemory () doesnt work on my platform < this could solve my problems



I want to edit with whole episodes:
PROPOSAL: quit doing multi-anime amvs :P use 1 season at a time, and render. Then use another season, and render. This also has the side effect of adding un-expected plots because your sticking to an anime.

Either way, I just spent 2 hrs editing and 7 hrs exporting this:
http://tinyurl.com/3yvlyh

And am going to finish it by proposal above.
Any comments? Btw zarxrax, click the link. You may have the first 5 seconds for amvhell if you so choose.

User avatar
Zarxrax
Joined: Sun Apr 01, 2001 6:37 pm
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Zarxrax » Mon Jul 02, 2007 11:24 am

You probably wanna use setmemorymax(32) on each avs file.
Also your cropping may be whats causing problems. You need to make sure that the height and width of your files is divisible by 16.

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by taifunbrowser » Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:05 pm

Zarxrax wrote:You need to make sure that the height and width of your files is divisible by 16.
ah.

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by taifunbrowser » Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:21 pm

DirectShowSource("Rahxephon_Movie.mkv", audio=false, fps=29.970, convertfps=true)
BilinearResize(720,480)
SetMemoryMax(16)

Returns once again:
---------------------------
VirtualDub Error
---------------------------
Avisynth open failure:
The script's return value was not a video clip
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

asdf

Post by taifunbrowser » Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:57 pm

MY EXPERIMENTS:
  1. Just use a bunch of pre-cut huffyuv avis
    • CON: Too much disk space usage; VirtualDubMod is clunky for "trimming" media, and anything larger than 10 seconds is already very very large even in huffyuv.
    • PRO:It exported fine. This method works, duh. (had to run this test to have a standing ground for the next ones
    I would really like to do something else.
  2. Frameserve whole episodes through VFAPI:
    • PRO: Yay! disk space free
    • Evidences:
      • With 5 .d2v imports, (that's 1 dvd of anime), I could export 25 seconds in 3:23, not bad. (It didn't crash) - this was my last amv's project, and it worked. TOP RAM: 85%
      • VFAPI could not support the script where the target was a divx avi, an mkv file, or a ogm file. wtf? This is really very strange: All the scripts that referenced divx avis, mkv files, or ogm files turned out black from vfapi, but all showed fine from their avs scripts (tested extensively)
    • CONCLUSION: Use VFAPI for frameserving d2v (DVD footage) ONLY! Nothing else works reliably (Actually, in my test nothing else did work), also sometimes vfapi does some really weird stuff with frames (no, this has nothing to do with the interlacing mode in vegas, because everytime you export the project, some new stuff gets messed up and some old stuff gets fixed. This is a serious bug, and is why I wanted to not use it for this project)
  3. Frameserve whole episodes through MakeAvis:
    • Disk space again.
    • Evidences:
      • Unlike VFAPI, MakeAvis loaded all the weird scripts fine (mkv, divx avi, and ogm) and also loaded the d2v scripts.
      • With 5 instances of makeavis loads in vegas, I could load with all, and rendering did not crash(Hmm...)
    • Conclusion: Makeavis appears to be the ultimate solution.
  4. Frameserve whole episodes through avs2avi:
    • Well, considering I'm the only one who knew about this, there was bound to be something wrong, huh? *At this point in my experiments it became clear to me that I should have used makeavis and not avs2avi in my amv :P
    • Evidences:
      • I Already know that this loads everything fine.
      • Importing 26 .ogm "somethngs" through avs2avi made vegas crash (on import alone!) the way I got past this before was just to import them one by one, but then again this stupid babying of the editor was probably the same reason why it crashed when I tried to export)
One last test: I made makeavis import the 21 ogms? It handled them.



oh shi - http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=71493

avs2avi has a newer version O.O

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

asdf

Post by taifunbrowser » Mon Jul 02, 2007 5:05 pm

ignore the tail end of above post. (got caught up in the whole "there are 2 projects both called avs2avi...")


CONCLUSION: use makeavis, dont use avs2avi, dont use vfapi.

Finally, back to editing, using makeavis for everything.

Of course, knowing me, i'll be back here posting again when vegas decides to not let me render even then :roll:

User avatar
Scintilla
(for EXTREME)
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 8:47 pm
Status: Quo
Location: New Jersey
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Scintilla » Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:17 am

Uh, any calls to SetMemoryMax() must go at the BEGINNING of your script. Should have mentioned.
ImageImage
:pizza: :pizza: Image :pizza: :pizza:

User avatar
RosenRed
Joined: Thu Mar 03, 2005 5:33 am
Org Profile

Post by RosenRed » Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:30 am

Um, is it me or you're editing with mkv files? What you basicaly do is having the PC decode compressed video, run it through AviSynth, then frame serve it. And if I understand correct, you are using A LOT of files... You are doomed to run out of memory...

Why not use the bait and switch method? Create lo-res avis (with MJPEG for example), edit and then replace them with full quality avis for the rendering (I don't use Vegas so I don't know for sure it works there).

PS: You don't have to download eclipse just to run a script! If you have JRE installed it will run just fine...
<a>Deep Into The Rabbit Hole...</a>

User avatar
taifunbrowser
Joined: Sat Sep 11, 2004 7:39 pm
Location: DDR ARCADES
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by taifunbrowser » Tue Jul 03, 2007 8:12 am

Scintilla wrote:Uh, any calls to SetMemoryMax() must go at the BEGINNING of your script. Should have mentioned.
thanks.
PS: You don't have to download eclipse just to run a script! If you have JRE installed it will run just fine...
People keep telling me this, but I can't run any java programs except from command line and eclipse! doubl eclicking jars does nothing on my system (I had an xp before, and it didn't work there either)

unless your meaning I should use the command line?

either way I've decided to just use mkvextract and ogm to avi, because theres no quality lost and the file size is actually smaller (:D)

Locked

Return to “Video & Audio Help”