Strange Avisynth Error

This forum is for questions and discussion of all the aspects of handling and cleaning up your footage with Avisynth.
Locked
User avatar
Deathscythe_Animated
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:16 am
Location: 44.322N/88.928W Elevation:794ft
Contact:
Org Profile

Strange Avisynth Error

Post by Deathscythe_Animated » Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:25 am

I'm trying to convert an h.264 .mp4 using an AVS script:

DirectShowSource("d:\filename.mp4")

When I try to load the file into vdubmod it gives me a script error saying that there is no function named "directshowsource"

Im sure im missing something easy and straight forward and downright noobish here but I dont know what. Can anyone point me in the right direction.
“Where the spirit does not work with the hand there is no art.”

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Qyot27 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:38 pm

Stuff like this happens sometimes when there's too many plugins in AviSynth's plugins folder, although otherwise my guess is that something's gone screwy with DirectShowSource itself.

You could try FFmpegSource (if the link's dead, try again later - that is, if you don't already have that plugin):
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=127037

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Qyot27 » Tue Aug 26, 2008 4:41 pm

Qyot27 wrote:Stuff like this happens sometimes when there's too many plugins in AviSynth's plugins folder, although otherwise my guess is that something's gone screwy with DirectShowSource itself.

You could try FFmpegSource (if the link's dead, try again later - that is, if you don't already have that plugin):
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=127037
Gah...well firstly you could try manually loading DirectShowSource like this:

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\DirectShowSource.dll")
DirectShowSource("file.mp4")

User avatar
Deathscythe_Animated
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:16 am
Location: 44.322N/88.928W Elevation:794ft
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Deathscythe_Animated » Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:10 pm

Looks like directshowsource.dll is missing altogether. I'm downloading a replacement as I write this. Crossing my fingers.
“Where the spirit does not work with the hand there is no art.”

User avatar
Deathscythe_Animated
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:16 am
Location: 44.322N/88.928W Elevation:794ft
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Deathscythe_Animated » Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:22 pm

Qyot27 wrote:
Qyot27 wrote:Stuff like this happens sometimes when there's too many plugins in AviSynth's plugins folder, although otherwise my guess is that something's gone screwy with DirectShowSource itself.

You could try FFmpegSource (if the link's dead, try again later - that is, if you don't already have that plugin):
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=127037
Gah...well firstly you could try manually loading DirectShowSource like this:

Code: Select all

LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins\DirectShowSource.dll")
DirectShowSource("file.mp4")
Ok so DirectShowSource did not work even after I redownloaded the plugin. However FFMpegSource worked great for the video, but there is no audio. This doesn't bother me nearly as much as I have ways of getting around that, however if there are any suggestions they would be greatly appreciated. :)
“Where the spirit does not work with the hand there is no art.”

User avatar
LivingFlame
Joined: Sat May 28, 2005 4:41 pm
Location: Closer than you think...
Org Profile

Post by LivingFlame » Tue Aug 26, 2008 10:27 pm

Just add atrack=-1 on the end of the ffmpegsource code. So it should look like:

Code: Select all

ffmpegsource("file.mp4", atrack=-1)
... yea ...

User avatar
Deathscythe_Animated
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:16 am
Location: 44.322N/88.928W Elevation:794ft
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Deathscythe_Animated » Tue Aug 26, 2008 11:44 pm

LivingFlame wrote:Just add atrack=-1 on the end of the ffmpegsource code. So it should look like:

Code: Select all

ffmpegsource("file.mp4", atrack=-1)
Well that will certainly simplify the process, right now I'm using some good old freeware to extract the audio from the .mp4 files, but on the next video I'll try that.

Thanks
“Where the spirit does not work with the hand there is no art.”

User avatar
Deathscythe_Animated
Joined: Wed Jun 15, 2005 12:16 am
Location: 44.322N/88.928W Elevation:794ft
Contact:
Org Profile

Post by Deathscythe_Animated » Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:07 am

Lol, that worked, the video and audio are there and synced perfectly, thanks for the help everyone!
“Where the spirit does not work with the hand there is no art.”

Locked

Return to “AviSynth Help”