x264 Settings... Help Needed
- Kira_Douji
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
MPEGStreamClip was using the x264 Quicktime codec... And I just played it back in QT
The x264 commandline I'm trying to use is download from http://wipple.m25.coreserver.jp/?cat=6
I put it in a folder, sat in that folder and made a call to it... and got the results above. (IE: "x264", "open x264", "sudo x264"... pretty much every tip/trick I found as to why it might not be getting noticed aaaand nothing.)
Just tried directly copy-pasting your suggestion as well in case I was typing it wrong and nada.
The x264 commandline I'm trying to use is download from http://wipple.m25.coreserver.jp/?cat=6
I put it in a folder, sat in that folder and made a call to it... and got the results above. (IE: "x264", "open x264", "sudo x264"... pretty much every tip/trick I found as to why it might not be getting noticed aaaand nothing.)
Just tried directly copy-pasting your suggestion as well in case I was typing it wrong and nada.
- Kira_Douji
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
Okay, playback in that artifacts in QT does NOT artifact in VLC... OR Movist.
Okay sonofab!tch.
The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
Okay sonofab!tch.
The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
-
- Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 5:33 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
No because quicktime sucks.Kira_Douji wrote:The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
Have you tried
Code: Select all
./x264 *rest of command line here*
while in the directory of the binary.
- Kira_Douji
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
1. PRAISE PRAISE (why didn't anyone else ever suggest this on the tens of forums I plundered?!)TheRyuu wrote:No because quicktime sucks.Kira_Douji wrote:The Question:
----------- do I want to bother with making the encodes play nice with QT?
Have you triedCode: Select all
./x264 *rest of command line here*
while in the directory of the binary.
2. Re: QT - Mainly concerned with playback by other people. You don't think it's prevalent enough to warrant worry? (Of course I don't mind making a 'hi def' version that's just FCPX's h264 export which, though larger than 100MB does play everywhere)
- Kira_Douji
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
More Fun~!
TRY 1
TRY 2
I feel like I'm missing something dreadfully obvious~
TRY 1
Code: Select all
Kaiba-Corp:MP4 Seto$ ./x264 --preset veryslow --tune animation --deblock -1:-2 --aq-strength 0.8 --psy-rd 0.7:0.2 --output "test.mkv" "TEST UNCOMPRESSED.mov"
ffms [info]: 1280x720p 0:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (vfr)
audio [info]: opened libavcodec's ac3 encoder (192.0kbps, 32bits, 2ch, 48000hz)
resize [warning]: converting from yuv422p16le to yuv420p16le
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 FastShuffle SSE4.2
x264 [info]: profile High 4:4:4 Predictive, level 5.0, 4:4:4 8-bit
Segmentation fault
Code: Select all
Kaiba-Corp:MP4 Seto$ ./x264 --crf 20 --preset veryslow --tune animation --output "Test.mp4" "TEST UNCOMPRESSED.mov"
ffms [info]: 1280x720p 0:1 @ 24000/1001 fps (vfr)
audio [info]: opened libavcodec's aac encoder (192.0kbps, 16bits, 2ch, 48000hz)
resize [warning]: converting from yuv422p16le to yuv420p16le
x264 [info]: using cpu capabilities: MMX2 SSE2Fast SSSE3 FastShuffle SSE4.2
x264 [info]: profile High 4:4:4 Predictive, level 5.0, 4:4:4 8-bit
Segmentation fault
- mirkosp
- The Absolute Mudman
- Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
- Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
- Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
- Contact:
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
QT has a lot of playback issues and unsupported basic features, which is why it fails playing that encode. You'd have to limit the settings, if you wish to support it. Imho it's just not worth it: it's better to get people to use better players, on OSX there are mplayer osx extended and mplayer2, there's not even the need to use vlc, nevermind qt.
Re: segmentation fault... perhaps see if lowering the rc-lookahead helps? Just a random guess, though. :\
Re: segmentation fault... perhaps see if lowering the rc-lookahead helps? Just a random guess, though. :\
Code: Select all
./x264 --preset veryslow --tune animation --rc-lookahead 40 --deblock -1:-2 --aq-strength 0.8 --psy-rd 0.7:0.2 --output "test.mkv" "TEST UNCOMPRESSED.mov"
-
- Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 5:33 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
ftfymirkosp wrote:it's better to get people to use better operating systems
As far as the segmentation faults are concerned, maybe the binaries just don't like you. You could try compiling them yourself if all else fails.
- Qyot27
- Surreptitious fluffy bunny
- Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
- Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
- Location: St. Pete, FL
- Contact:
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
The segfault is probably due to colorspace and bit depth issues, because I'm fairly sure I duplicated it on Windows (it doesn't report a Segmentation fault, it just makes x264 crash after reporting the exact same things).
You need to use the --vf option to convert to a colorspace/bit depth x264 understands. So see if one of these fixes it:
--vf resize:csp=yv12:8
--vf resize:csp=i444:8 --output-csp i444
Alternatively, re-render from the NLE and make sure it outputs in a colorspace/bit depth that won't get choked on.
You need to use the --vf option to convert to a colorspace/bit depth x264 understands. So see if one of these fixes it:
--vf resize:csp=yv12:8
--vf resize:csp=i444:8 --output-csp i444
Alternatively, re-render from the NLE and make sure it outputs in a colorspace/bit depth that won't get choked on.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog
- Kira_Douji
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
Mirk - Yeah, I do have other players, it's just that they can't integrate as well as QT. Really wish I could tell QuickLook to run through something else (movist/mplayer etc...) This would probably solve the majority of my irritation.
Ryuu - I'm sorry, I fail to see the point of your post?
Qyot27 - Helpful as always, I'll try that. It was previously in:
So I figured it'd be okay - I forgot about the YV12. Whoops. I'll see if changing it helps.
Ryuu - I'm sorry, I fail to see the point of your post?
Qyot27 - Helpful as always, I'll try that. It was previously in:
Code: Select all
Color space : YUV
Chroma subsampling : 4:2:2
Bit depth : 10 bits
Compression mode : Lossless
- Kira_Douji
- Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2005 1:38 pm
Re: x264 Settings... Help Needed
Update:
The colorspace tag resolved everything It's got me looking for a YV12 codec for the system...
As for the rest - CLI and MPEGStreamClip methods are both working, I have a better understanding of what had caused me some confusion before (mainly QuickTime, of course >>) and I appreciate all the help you've all given.
Now, I'm just curious if any of their QuickTime upgrades in Lion fix any of this mess.
The colorspace tag resolved everything It's got me looking for a YV12 codec for the system...
As for the rest - CLI and MPEGStreamClip methods are both working, I have a better understanding of what had caused me some confusion before (mainly QuickTime, of course >>) and I appreciate all the help you've all given.
Now, I'm just curious if any of their QuickTime upgrades in Lion fix any of this mess.