Encoding h.264 to a format comptabile with AdobePremiereCS3
-
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 5:41 pm
Encoding h.264 to a format comptabile with AdobePremiereCS3
I've tried finding solutions through the forums, but either it doesn't fit with what I'm trying to figure out or it gets way too complicated too fast and I'm pretty much a newbie when it comes to these things. but any help would be appreciated!
I have some h.264 files and I'm getting the impression that vdubmod and Adobe Premiere CS3 aren't compatible with h.264 (especially since they don't import at all). I wanted to convert them to .avi but judging from what I've been looking into, I'm guessing that's not the best way to go. So I just want to know what program(s) I should use and what should I encode it to?
I have some h.264 files and I'm getting the impression that vdubmod and Adobe Premiere CS3 aren't compatible with h.264 (especially since they don't import at all). I wanted to convert them to .avi but judging from what I've been looking into, I'm guessing that's not the best way to go. So I just want to know what program(s) I should use and what should I encode it to?
- Kariudo
- Twilight prince
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 11:08 pm
- Status: 1924 bots banned and counting!
- Location: Los taquitos unidos
- Contact:
you'll probably end up using avisynth to serve your video files into vdubmod where you re-encode with a lossless codec like huffyuv or lagarith
you'll need ffmpegsource for avisynth to do its thing.
if you don't have huffyuv and/or lagarith:
huffyuv
Lagarith
you'll need ffmpegsource for avisynth to do its thing.
if you don't have huffyuv and/or lagarith:
huffyuv
Lagarith
- Kionon
- I ♥ the 80's
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 10:13 pm
- Status: Ayukawa MODoka.
- Location: I wonder if you know how they live in Tokyo... DRIFT, DRIFT, DRIFT
- Contact:
AVS
Code: Select all
DirectShowSourc(C:/address/for/your/h264files.mp4)
Filter(goeshere)
- mirkosp
- The Absolute Mudman
- Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
- Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
- Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
- Contact:
I'd say that using ffmpegsource instead of directshowsource would be better.Kionon wrote:AVS
Code: Select all
DirectShowSource(C:/address/for/your/h264files.mp4) Filter(goeshere)
To further info for the ffmpegsource and the download, go here.
- Kionon
- I ♥ the 80's
- Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2001 10:13 pm
- Status: Ayukawa MODoka.
- Location: I wonder if you know how they live in Tokyo... DRIFT, DRIFT, DRIFT
- Contact:
Never been an issue for me.mirkosp wrote:I'd say that using ffmpegsource instead of directshowsource would be better.Kionon wrote:AVS
Code: Select all
DirectShowSource(C:/address/for/your/h264files.mp4) Filter(goeshere)
To further info for the ffmpegsource and the download, go here.
- mirkosp
- The Absolute Mudman
- Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
- Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
- Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
- Contact:
-
- Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2003 5:41 pm
Thanks for all the help, but I'm completely new to the AviSynth script writing. If it makes any difference, I originally had the files in .mkv and then demuxed them into .mp4. When I try to open them via AviSynth in vdubmod with directshowsource, I get an "Unspecified error". Then I tried ffmpegsource (storing the .dll file in various places, and I'm still unsure of where to put it...) and I have no idea how to even use ffmpegsource as a command.
Still in the process of learning AviSynth, so bear with me. It all sounds easy, so maybe I'm missing something pretty basic here...
Still in the process of learning AviSynth, so bear with me. It all sounds easy, so maybe I'm missing something pretty basic here...
- mirkosp
- The Absolute Mudman
- Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
- Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
- Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
- Contact:
Well, the best I can do is telling you to read THE guide. It should solve most of your problems. Also, you can use mkv files without the necessity of making mp4 from them. Both directshowsource and ffmpegsource will work fine.
As where to put the ffmpegsource, the path should be:
Hope this helps.
As where to put the ffmpegsource, the path should be:
Code: Select all
C:\Program Files\AviSynth 2.5\plugins
- Corran
- Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 7:40 pm
- Contact:
Donald Graft has been working on an AVCSource filter. It works a lot like MPEG2Source.
First you have to extract the video stream. You can do this with a program like mplayer with the following command:
Then you index the .264 file using DGAVCIndex just like you would with DGIndex to create a .dga project file.
Finally, you create an AVISynth script that looks something like this:
It won't work on every AVC stream currently out until libavcodec matures more, but it wouldn't hurt to try.
First you have to extract the video stream. You can do this with a program like mplayer with the following command:
Code: Select all
mplayer.exe -dumpvideo -dumpfile D:\Outfile.264 D:\test.mp4
Finally, you create an AVISynth script that looks something like this:
Code: Select all
LoadPlugin("DGAVCDecode.dll")
AVCSource("project.dga")
It won't work on every AVC stream currently out until libavcodec matures more, but it wouldn't hurt to try.