Couldn't put the video directly into VDM, cause it supposedly wasn't a VFW format, so I tried AVISource, and that still won't work. Any suggestions?Avisynth Open Failure:
AVISource: couldn't locate decompressor for fourcc xvid
(File path)
VDM Error
- The Origonal Head Hunter
- The Propheteer
- Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:21 am
- Status: Hooked on a Feeling
- Location: State of Denial
VDM Error
Trying to make a xvid avi I got for Project: Editor into a lossless, since Premiere refuses to export with that on the time line, but I keep getting this error:
- kenzuka
- Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 12:09 pm
- Location: France
Re: VDM Error
The AVIsource filter use your VFW codec to open your video (If i'm not mistaken), so if VDM tell you that you do not have the codec, it's gonna be the same with AVIsource.
You have 3 solutions:
- Instal the XVID/DIVX codec (what you generally in a codec pack is FFdshow which can read the Xvid, but is not a VFW codec)
- Open you video with FFmpegSource("File_path")
- Open you video with DirectShowSource("File_path")
You have 3 solutions:
- Instal the XVID/DIVX codec (what you generally in a codec pack is FFdshow which can read the Xvid, but is not a VFW codec)
- Open you video with FFmpegSource("File_path")
- Open you video with DirectShowSource("File_path")
- mirkosp
- The Absolute Mudman
- Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 6:24 am
- Status: (」・ワ・)」(⊃・ワ・)⊃
- Location: Gallarate (VA), Italy
- Contact:
Re: VDM Error
The problem with the letter two options is that ffmpegsource sometimes shifts the audio so it isn't in sync anymore, and the directshowsource isn't frame accurate so it often causes frame order errors... I think that installing the xvid codec is prolly the best solution.kenzuka wrote:The AVIsource filter use your VFW codec to open your video (If i'm not mistaken), so if VDM tell you that you do not have the codec, it's gonna be the same with AVIsource.
You have 3 solutions:
- Instal the XVID/DIVX codec (what you generally in a codec pack is FFdshow which can read the Xvid, but is not a VFW codec)
- Open you video with FFmpegSource("File_path")
- Open you video with DirectShowSource("File_path")
- The Origonal Head Hunter
- The Propheteer
- Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:21 am
- Status: Hooked on a Feeling
- Location: State of Denial
Re: VDM Error
Installing xvid did it, thanks.
- Qyot27
- Surreptitious fluffy bunny
- Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
- Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
- Location: St. Pete, FL
- Contact:
Re: VDM Error
For transcoding purposes, DirectShowSource would work fine - it's just for editing that frame accuracy starts figuring in more.mirkosp wrote:The problem with the letter two options is that ffmpegsource sometimes shifts the audio so it isn't in sync anymore, and the directshowsource isn't frame accurate so it often causes frame order errors... I think that installing the xvid codec is prolly the best solution.
FFmpegSource, as far as I know, only has issues with audio sync if the file is VFR, which the vast majority of files are not. And actually, from what I've read the 2.0 version of FFmpegSource has a VFR-to-CFR mode, although for other reasons that version is still not recommended.
ffdshow does in fact have a VFW interface, and it works very well. Now, whether the bastards that put together computer-killing codec packs actually include that part of ffdshow is up in the air, but if you grab the most recent version of ffdshow-tryouts from the Sourceforge page then the VFW interface is there.kenzuka wrote:(what you generally in a codec pack is FFdshow which can read the Xvid, but is not a VFW codec)
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog