Encoding error...

If you have questions about compression/encoding/converting look here.
Locked
User avatar
EvaFan
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:25 pm
Status: (*゚▽゚)o旦~ ー乾杯ー♪
Location: Somerset, KY
Org Profile

Encoding error...

Post by EvaFan » Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:44 pm

These are the steps I'm taking in order:

1.Render an Uncompressed version of amv with uncompressed audio from premiere

2. This is my script:
AVIsource("C:\Sequence 01.avi")
ConverttoYV12
deblock()
HorizontalReduceBy2()
TurnRight()
nnedi(field=0,dh=true)
TurnLeft()
Tisophote()
fft3dgpu(bt=3,sigma=4,plane=4,mode=1,precision=2,scutoff=0.9)
vmtoon(thinning=0)
Tweak(hue=1.0,sat=1.2,bright=-0.2,cont=1.0)
colourizesmooth()

3. Before you ask, YES THE SOURCE WAS VERY UGLY LOOKING.

4. I open vdub and import script and try to save as another Uncompressed RGB

5. At Frame 808-810 It freezes encoding and starts giving the errors: Thread has not cycled for blah blah, possible live lock.
I checked the frame it messes up on and they are green and discolored so I'm wondering if it has to do with the colourspace conversion messing up?

Any help would be appreciated as I really don't have much of an idea as to what I could do to get around/ fix this... I've tried alot of things as it is.
"The people cannot be [...] always, well informed. The part which is wrong will be discontented, in proportion to [...] the facts they misconceive. If they remain quiet under such misconceptions, it is lethargy, the forerunner of death to public liberty. What country can preserve its liberties, if it's rulers are not warned [...] that this people preserve the spirit of resistance? The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants."-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Encoding error...

Post by Qyot27 » Wed Mar 11, 2009 3:08 pm

Why are you trying to save the result in Uncompressed RGB after it's been converted is YV12?

As a test, make sure you have mencoder (it's part of MeGUI's updates, in the tools/mplayer folder). If you don't want to edit the Windows PATH to include it*, then just copy mencoder.exe and mplayer subfolder (not the main mplayer directory, the one residing inside it) to wherever your script is. Go into the mplayer folder and open up mencoder.conf in a text editor. Then copy and paste this over the stuff that's in there, then save it:

Code: Select all

ass=no
subcp=enca:ru:cp1251
fontconfig=no
nosound=yes
autoexpand=no
ovc=lavc=yes
lavcopts=vcodec=ffvhuff:context=1:vstrict=-1:pred=2
ffourcc=HFYU
force-avi-aspect=1/1
That configuration will output a YV12-mode HuffYUV file. If you use ffdshow to read HuffYUV, then everything'll be fine. The reason I recommend that particular format and decoder combo is because it's freakin' fast on playback.

*Putting it in Windows' PATH will make it available throughout your system, without having to have the physical exe residing in the directory you're in. Alternately, you can stick it (and the 'mplayer' folder) in C:\WINDOWS, which does essentially the same thing.

Now, open up a command prompt in the directory the script is in (easy to do if you use the Open Command Prompt Here shell extension from either Microsoft or KTechComputing - the latter is recommended if you're running Vista, since the Microsoft one is only for XP, AFAIK).

Copy and paste the following commandline into the prompt and hit enter or return:

Code: Select all

mencoder "input.avs" -o "output.avi"

If it *still* gives you fits around frames 808-810, then there's something deeper that's wrong (like a bad export from the editing program). The Thread cycling/live lock warning in VDub is usually just an indicator that the script is slow. mencoder simply isn't as prone to that kind of issue, although if something is wrong with the video stream itself it'll still tell you.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

User avatar
EvaFan
Joined: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:25 pm
Status: (*゚▽゚)o旦~ ー乾杯ー♪
Location: Somerset, KY
Org Profile

Re: Encoding error...

Post by EvaFan » Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:23 pm

Interestingly enough I solved the problem by keying out the color black on the frame... I have no idea has to how that solved it but idc as long as it works lol...

I was using VDM to export a uncompressed and only option it gives is RGB

Was in the process of encoding when i noticed your reply. There is another error later on in the video though. There are a few frames with just pure video encoding error (Looks like TV static noise garbage). I've never had this much of a problem encoding before. If I cant get it to work perfectly I'll try mencoder next.
"The people cannot be [...] always, well informed. The part which is wrong will be discontented, in proportion to [...] the facts they misconceive. If they remain quiet under such misconceptions, it is lethargy, the forerunner of death to public liberty. What country can preserve its liberties, if it's rulers are not warned [...] that this people preserve the spirit of resistance? The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time, with the blood of patriots and tyrants."-Thomas Jefferson

User avatar
Qyot27
Surreptitious fluffy bunny
Joined: Fri Aug 30, 2002 12:08 pm
Status: Creepin' between the bullfrogs
Location: St. Pete, FL
Contact:
Org Profile

Re: Encoding error...

Post by Qyot27 » Thu Mar 12, 2009 8:15 am

Eva-Fan wrote:Interestingly enough I solved the problem by keying out the color black on the frame... I have no idea has to how that solved it but idc as long as it works lol...
That's strange. I've never experienced something like that before.
I was using VDM to export a uncompressed and only option it gives is RGB
What I meant was why save as another Uncompressed file at all (and new versions of VDub proper have a joint Uncompressed RGB/YCbCr option; you can also use a multitude of Uncompressed colorspaces through ffdshow's VFW encoder)? Is this going to go back into the editing program or is it going to an encoding app like x264?
Was in the process of encoding when i noticed your reply. There is another error later on in the video though. There are a few frames with just pure video encoding error (Looks like TV static noise garbage). I've never had this much of a problem encoding before. If I cant get it to work perfectly I'll try mencoder next.
That sounds more like corruption due to a bad export, but it wouldn't hurt to try.
My profile on MyAnimeList | Quasistatic Regret: yeah, yeah, I finally got a blog

Locked

Return to “Conversion / Encoding Help”